Wednesday, December 3, 2008

The seven stages of Pakistan

In whatever way we interpret the “peak moments” discussed in the previous post, they help us divide the history of Pakistan since 1886 into seven symmetrical periods:

  • 1886-1905, Inquiry
  • 1906-1925, Discovery
  • 1926-1946, Transcendence
  • 1947-1966, Freedom
  • 1967-1986, Action
  • 1987-2006, Expansion
  • 2007-26, Creation
The names of the stages (i.e. inquiry, discovery, and so on) have been taken from the "Seven Stages" which recur in Iqbal's work as I've shown in my book The Republic of Rumi (2007) and discussed in my newsletter. Of course, those who may like to name this periods differently can do so ("What's there in a name?"). But the beauty of dividing our history into these seven periods is that not only this division is symmetrical but it is based on the peak moments of the entire society rather than the coming and going of individual rulers.
Does this sound better than naming the periods of our history "the Ayub Khan era", "Yahya Khan era," and so on?


  1. These seven stages sound good before 2026. But after 2026, will the history of pakistan stop? or we have to go for some new ways of dividing our history?

  2. Administrator, thanks. The entire paradigm of "the Seven Stages" is derived from an intensive study of Iqbal's work. There, the seven stages are a recurring pattern but each recurrence brings new changes. However, we should be keep our eyes open to any new patterns which emerge, and hence the need for "new ways of dividing our history" cannot be overlooked. As Iqbal said, "There is no such thing as finality in scientific thought." :)

  3. Yes and he also said that there would be more philosophers like him in future. Am I right?

  4. No, Iqbal didnt say that there would be more philosophers like him in future :).